Welcome to Australian Hostels Association, WA

  Light of the August Moon

The 2007 AHA Accommodation Hotels Ball presented by Asahi took place at Burswood Entertainment Complex on Monday 27th August. The Members Equity Bank Accommodation Hotels Management Awards were presented with a multitude of winners being recognised for outstanding service to the industry. Accommodation employees took the spotlight and proved that despite the chronic labour shortage, service standards are better than ever.

CEO Bradley Woods said the high standards achieved by these individuals are a reflection of the professionalism throughout the accommodation hotel sector.

"The awards formed part of a fantastic evening that saw the very best employees in hospitality being rewarded."

A myriad of Japanese entertainment and food & beverage ensured that guests journeyed on a cultural experience to the fusion and flavours of ancient and contemporary Japan. In the Manga after bar, on the night streets of Tokyo, guests were invited to experience the vibrancy of modern Japan.

Mixologists from Pernod Ricard Australia created 'Tokyo Honey' and 'Japanese Moon', two specially designed cocktails for the evening which were sipped to the sounds of karaoke!

Click here to view photos of the evening

2007 Accommodation Ball Performer 2007 Accommodation Ball Act 2007 Accommodation Ball Theme 2007 Accommodation Ball Entertainment

The 2007 Members Equity Bank Accommodation Hotel Management Award Winners ME Bank

Front Office Award: sponsored by Cadbury Schweppes
Winner: Gareth Long - Intercontinental Perth Burswood
Certificate of Merit: Sinead O'Neill - Broadwater Resort Hotel Kalgoorlie

Administration, Finance and Executive Support Award: sponsored by Alinta
Winner: Cerisse Williams - Sheraton Perth Hotel

Cookery Services Award: sponsored by HISCO Hospitality & Healthcare
Winner:   Sean Marco - Burswood Entertainment Complex

Concierge Award: sponsored by HostPLUS
Winner: Graeme Mitchell - Intercontinental Perth Burswood

Sales and Marketing Award: sponsored by HostPLUS
Winner:  Keith Perreau - Holiday Inn City Centre Perth
Certificate of Merit:   Melanie Koh - Rydges Perth Hotel 

Food and Beverage Services Award: sponsored by Uniform Fashions
Winner: Caroline Watson - Burswood Entertainment Complex

Human Resources Award:  sponsored by Hospitalitybiz
Winner: Caroline Watson - Burswood Entertainment Complex

Housekeeping Award: sponsored by Thomas Peacock & Sons
Winner: Deborah Stubbs - Holiday Inn City Centre Perth
Certificate of Merit: Kellee Randall - Rydges Perth Hotel

Engineering and Maintenance Award: sponsored by Electrical Testing Services
Winner: Tony Fioraso - Burswood Entertainment Complex
Certificate of Merit:   Peter Stokes - Broadwater Pagoda Resort Hotel, Como

Management Team of the Year Award: sponsored by AHS Hospitality
Winner: Business Development Team - Parmelia Hilton Perth
Certificate of Merit: Food and Beverage Team - Sen5es Restaurant - Novotel Langley Perth

Best Manager - Executive Level Award: sponsored by APRA
Winner: Bruce Humphrey - Sheraton Perth Hotel

Accommodation Hotels Hall of Fame Award: sponsored by Foster's Group
Winner: Laurie O'Meara


Corporate Sponsor - AON Risk Services
Harvest Road
Spirits & Cocktails Australia
Red Bull Australia
Beam Suntory