Welcome to Australian Hostels Association, WA

2013 AHA and Crown Lager Accommodation Hotels Gala Ball

Diwali Dreams
Monday 12 August 2013, Crown Perth

Carlton & United Breweries    ME Bank

2013 Accommodation Ball Theme    2013 Accommodation Ball Performers    2013 Accommodation Ball Winners  


2013 Winners have been announced!   View the full list here. 

Diwali Dreams on August 12, transported guests at the AHA and Crown Lager Accommodation Hotels Industry Gala Ball into the subcontinent for an ethereal evening of elegance recognising the outstanding levels of excellence and high standards upheld by the Western Australian Accommodation Industry.

The celebrations were set against a delicate backdrop of colour, vibrant dance and culinary infusions. Guests were greeted in the Indian Pre-Drink area by Sitar music and coloured drapes. The curtain drop revealed the Crown Perth Grand Ballroom transformed with two large red elephants standing guard on either side of the front stage, in front of the wall-to-wall screen. Indian style parasols and candles held the focus on each rose petal adorned table,while red, orange and yellow chair covers brought the heat of India to the room.

Guests were regaled by Green Room Entertainment dancers, providing a unique mix of dance from old and contemporary India. Master of Ceremonies, Michael Elezovich helped to celebrate the success of the Accommodation Industry through the presentations of Venue Awards and Management Employee Awards.

A team of 50 Crown Perth chefs led by Executive Sous Chef Sean Marco, treated guests to a five course culinary journey from Northern to Southern India with a taste explosion including dahl, curry, tandoori and lassi. The menu was specifically designed to capture the taste and excitement of India, showcasing the culinary brilliance and high standards that the Accommodation industry represents. A splendid array of premium beverages was also on offer.

In a night recognising the leaders of the Accommodation industry, the prestigious Accommodation Industry Hall of Fame Award was presented to Martin Peirson-Jones of Kimberley Accommodation including the newly established Berkley River Lodge. AHA(WA) Accommodation Division President Mr Grant Raubenheimer and Hon Dr Kim Hames MLA, Deputy Premier and Minister for Health, presented the award to Martin and thanked him for his ongoing dedication to the industry.

As the ceremonies came to an end, guests were welcomed into the Raj After Bar where Campari cocktails and Crown Lager beverages were on offer alongside the energetic Hi-NRG band who encouraged all to get up and dance. Indian parasols and low level lounges littered the Raj After Bar, creating a comfortable and colourful environment for networking with guests.

With over 600 guests attending this year's event and a long list of dignitaries, the 2013 AHA and Crown Lager Accommodation Hotel Gala Ball and the presentation of the ME Bank WA Accommodation Industry Awards was once again a showpiece event on Perth's social calendar. The AHA would like to thank all guests for their attendance and look forward to welcoming everyone back again next year.

View a selection of photos through the AHA Facebook Page  or the AHA Photo Gallery.   


2013 Accommodation Ball Award Presentation 2013 Accommodation Ball Networking 2013 Accommodation Ball Entertainment



 ME Bank   

2013 ME Bank WA Accommodation Industry Awards 

Hotel Awards

Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award  sponsored by PS Structures
Winner: Crown Metropol Perth
Certificate of Merit: Rendezvous Grand Hotel Perth

Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award  sponsored by Advans Exhibition Services 
Winner: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Mid-Range Accommodation Award  sponsored by AHS Hospitality 
Winner: ibis Perth

Superior Accommodation Award  sponsored by Furniture Options 
Winner: Four Points by Sheraton Perth

Deluxe Accommodation Award  sponsored by Peacocks Bedding 
Winner: Crown Perth Metropol 

Apartment/Suite Accommodation Award  sponsored by James Richardson Corporation
Winner: Assured Ascot Quays Apartment Hotel

Resort Style Accommodation Award  sponsored by HotelsApart
Winner: Crown Perth Metropol

Restaurant within an Accommodation Hotel Award  sponsored by Accolade Wines 
Winner: Bistro Guillaume - Crown Perth 

Accommodation Hotel Wine List Award  sponsored by Fine Wine Wholesalers
Winner: The Terrace Hotel

Management Team Award  sponsored by William Angliss Institute 
Winner: Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa

Management Employee Awards

Front Office Award
 sponsored by City of Perth
Winner: Beate Lichtwald - Kings Perth Hotel 
Certificate of Merit: Alex Sheehy - Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Certificate of Merit: Shannon Uptin - Pan Pacific Perth

Cookery Services Award  sponsored by Blue Cow Cheese Company 
Winner: Matt Lonne - Rendezvous Observation City Hotel Perth HALL OF FAME
Certificate of Merit: Patrick Carlin - Joondalup Resort

Concierge Award  sponsored by HOSTPLUS 
Winner: Ziyaad Hansrod - Crown Metropol Perth   

Administration, Finance and Executive Support Award  sponsored by Perth Convention Bureau 
Winner: Grant Joyce - Four Points by Sheraton Perth

Sales and Marketing Award  sponsored by HOSTPLUS 
Winner: Jemma Clarke - Pan Pacific Perth

Conference and Events Award  sponsored by PPCA 
Winner: Meghan Freind - Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Housekeeping Award  sponsored by Prime Laundry
Winner: Lynne Harrison - Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Human Resources Award  sponsored by Easy Payroll
Winner: Marinus Snetler - Rendezvous Observation City Hotel Perth 
Certificate of Merit: Rebekah Green - Kimberley Accommodation

Engineering and Maintenance Award   sponsored by Electrical Testing Services 
Winner: Darius Smith - Rendezvous Studio Hotel Perth 
Certificate of Merit: Mervyn Farrell - Novotel Vines Resort & Country Club 

Food and Beverage Services Award  sponsored by HFM Asset Management 
Winner: Rod Santos - Rendezvous Grand Hotel Perth
Certificate of Merit: Chris Johnstone - Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Executive Level Manager Award  sponsored by APRA|AMCOS 
Winner: Jodi Brown - Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 
Certificate of Merit: Lester Adams - Holiday Inn Perth City Centre


2013 Accommodation Hotel Industry Hall of Fame Award

2013 AHA Accommodation Industry Hall of Fame Award  sponsored by Carlton & United Breweries
Winner: Martin Peirson Jones


View a selection of photos from the evening through the AHA Facebook Page  or the AHA Photo Gallery   

2013 Accommodation Ball Hall of Fame    2013 Accommodation Ball    2013 Accommodation Ball Winner Presentation  


Corporate Sponsor - AON Risk Services
Perth Airport
Liquid Mix
Miles From Nowhere
Dwyer Durack