The Australian Hotels Association (WA) proudly announces the winners of the 2023 AHA-Aon Hospitality Awards for Excellence.

Held at Crown Towers Perth last night, 1100 guests celebrated with the 2023 winners of WA’s most prestigious hospitality awards.

AHA(WA) CEO Bradley Woods said the state’s hospitality industry had never been in a stronger position, with a rich assortment of high-quality hotels, bars, pubs, taverns and restaurants across Perth and regional WA.

“These awards provide an opportunity to commend those in WA’s hospitality industry that are constantly striving for excellence, lifting standards of service and delivering incredible experiences for their patrons.”

“WA’s hospitality industry plays a key role in the state’s economy and is fundamental in shaping visitor’s perception of the state.”

“The venues, operators and staff receiving a 2023 Hospitality Award for Excellence have beaten an elite group of finalists that were narrowed down from 440 nominations, so they represent the very best of the best.”

“The quality of the hospitality venues that are on offer across WA is at an all-time high, being propelled by industry standards that are being lifted, then exceeded, each year.”

“From casual pubs and contemporary restaurants, through to small bars, fine dining and boutique breweries, Western Australians have an unprecedented range of options to choose from.”



Perth’s Best Hospitality Venue

The Claremont Hotel

WA’s Best Regional Hospitality Venue

Treendale Farm Hotel (Hall of Fame)

Group Venue Operator Award

Tillbrook Melaleuka Group (TMG)


Cocktail Bar Award

Terrarium, Perth

Small Bar Award (Joint winners)

Bertie, Bassendean

Caballitos, Perth (Hall of Fame)

Outdoor Area Award

Victoria Park Hotel

Redeveloped Venue Award

The Claremont Hotel

Highly commended: Shui, Subiaco

New Venue Award   

Froth Craft Bunbrewery, Bunbury

Highly commended: Phat Brew Club, West Perth

Boutique Brewery Award

Thorny Devil Brewery, Herron

Late Night Venue Award

Universal Bar, Perth (Hall of Fame)

Draught Beer Quality Award

Pirate Life Perth

The Lion Bar Presentation and Service Award

The Claremont Hotel

Community Service Award

Finlay’s Kalbarri

Training Initiative Award

Optus Stadium, Burswood

Retail Bottleshop Award

Cellarbrations Superstore – Treendale Farm Hotel, Australind (Hall of Fame)

Aon Responsible Service of Alcohol Award

Crown Perth, Burswood

Tourism Initiative Award

Mambakoort – The Marina Mindarie

Conference and Functions Award

Crown Perth, Burswood

Social Media Activity Award

NightOwl Entertainment Group

Highly commended: Finlay’s Kalbarri


Restaurant Award

The Shorehouse, Swanbourne

Highly commended: Woodcutters – Nikola Estate, Middle Swan

Superior Restaurant Award

Nobu – Crown Perth, Burswood

Wine List Award

The Shorehouse, Swanbourne

WA’s Best Steak Sandwich Award

North West Brewing Company

Contemporary Bar Menu Award

Market Grounds, Perth

Casual Pub Dining Award – Metropolitan

C.Y. O’Connor Village Pub, Piara Waters

Casual Pub Dining Award – Regional

Settlers Tavern, Margaret River

Family Dining Award

Treendale Farm Hotel, Australind (Hall of Fame)

Highly commended: The Henley Brook


Themed Venue Award

Lucky Chan’s Laundry & Noodle Bar, Northbridge

Live Entertainment Venue Award

Milkbar – Civic Hotel, Inglewood

Sporting Entertainment Venue Award

Patriots Sports Bar – Brass Monkey Hotel, Northbridge

TAB Hotel/PubTAB Venue Award

The Brook Bar & Bistro, Ellenbrook (Hall of Fame)


Bar Team Award

The Aviary Perth 

Head Chef Award (Joint winners)

Ashish Gagneja, Chakra Restaurant

Paul Beard, RAC Arena

Cocktail Bartender Award

David Xander Stucken, Terrarium Perth

Venue Manager Award (Joint winners)

Sam Drury, Gosnells Hotel

Grant Humeston, Optus Stadium

Rising Star Award

Sam Spadek, Queens Tavern

Cookery Services Employee Award

‘Shin’ Wei-Sin Chen, Settlers Tavern

Food and Beverage Services Employee Award

Wils Fountain, Odyssea

Highly commended: Rosie Burrows, Mount Helena Tavern

Front Office and Administration Employee Award

Debra Webb, Bailey Brewing Co.

PubTAB Operator Award

Mariah O’Brien, The Gate Bar & Bistro

Excellence in Service Award

Grant Fomison, Kailis Fishmarket Café

Share this post

Skip to content