Welcome to Australian Hostels Association, WA




The winners of the 2019 AHA & Aon Hospitality Awards for Excellence were celebrated last night at the Byron Bay Premium Lager Gala Ball.

WA’s leading hospitality venues and the staff who drive their success converged on Crown Perth to acknowledge industry leaders across 41 award categories.

Australian Hotels Association (WA) CEO Bradley Woods said the 2019 finalists and winners represented the pinnacle of hospitality venues throughout Western Australia.

“Western Australia’s hospitality industry continues to grow from strength to strength and the quality of the finalists at this year’s Awards for Excellence reflects the exceptional standards for which WA is increasingly renowned,” Mr Woods said.

“The awards are an opportunity to acknowledge those venues that constantly strive to raise the bar, as well as their dedicated staff who are the backbone of the industry.”

“WA’s hotels, bars, restaurants, pubs, taverns, wineries and breweries are offering patrons more than ever before, with exceptional food and beverage offerings complemented by world-class service.”

“Our hospitality industry is in many ways the face of WA - venues and staff across the state play a critical role in how we are perceived and in this regard the industry is excelling.”

Last night’s award categories included WA’s Best Regional Hospitality Venue won by Froth Craft Brewery, Perth’s Best Hospitality Venue won by The Marina Mindarie, WA’s Best Steak Sandwich won by The Karalee on Preston and the Group Venue Operator Award, which was awarded to Sneakers & Jeans. Industry stalwart Danny Kapinkoff was awarded the esteemed Hospitality Industry Lifetime Achievement Award.

The complete list of winners can be found below.


Further information: David De Garis 0412 577 567




Community Service Award

Winner: The Marina Mindarie


The Lion Beer Australia Bar Presentation and Service Award

Winner: Whitfords Brewing Company, Hillarys

Highly Commended: The Lucky Shag Waterfront Bar


Aon Risk Solutions Responsible Service of Alcohol Award

Winner: Blanche Bar, Karratha


Training Initiative Award

Winner: Crown Perth, Burswood


Retail Bottleshop Award

Winner: Haynes Bar and Grill, Armadale


Draught Beer Quality Award

Winner: Petition - State Buildings, Perth


Small Bar Award

Winner: Varnish on King, Perth


Cocktail Bar Award

Winner: Tiki As FK, Northbridge


Late Night Venue Award

Winner: The Court, Perth


Environmental and Energy Efficiency Practice Award

Winner: The Marina Mindarie


Tourism Initiative Award


Winner: Settlers Tavern, Margaret River

Winner: VenuesLive for Optus Stadium, Burswood


Redeveloped Venue Award


Winner: The Lookout Bar Bowling Bites, Scarborough

Winner: The National Hotel, Fremantle


New Venue Award

Winner: Goody Two’s, Perth


Outdoor Area Award

Winner: Froth Craft Brewery, Exmouth


Boutique Brewery Award

Winner: Froth Craft Brewery, Exmouth


Conference and Functions Award

Winner: The Westin Perth


Social Media Activity Award

Winner: The Court, Perth




WA’s Best Steak Sandwich Award

Winner: Karalee on Preston, Como


Contemporary Bar Menu Award
Winner: Market Grounds, Perth


Casual Pub Dining Award – Metropolitan

Winner: The Shoe Bar & Grill, Perth


Casual Pub Dining Award – Regional

Winner: Rambla Bar & Bistro, Wickham


Family Dining Award
Winner: The Henley Brook


Restaurant Award

Winner: Il Lido Italian Canteen, Cottesloe


Premium Restaurant Award

Winner: Wildflower - COMO The Treasury, Perth


Wine List Award

Winner: Settlers Tavern, Margaret River (Hall of Fame)




TAB Hotel/PubTAB Venue Award

Winner: Port Kennedy Tavern


Sporting Entertainment Venue Award


Winner: Crown Sports Bar - Crown Perth, Burswood

Winner: Varsity Bar Joondalup


Live Entertainment Venue Award

Winner: Rosemount Hotel, North Perth (Hall of Fame)


Themed Venue Award

Winner: Caballitos, Perth




Rising Star Award

Winner: Max Virgo - Matso's Broome Brewery


Cookery Services Employee Award

Winner: Elijah D’Vauz - State Buildings, Perth

Highly Commended: Emily Turner - Rustlers Steakhouse and Grill, Albany


Head Chef Award

Winner: Leif Huru - Crown Perth, Burswood

Highly Commended: Nick Birrell - Mayfair Lane Pub & Dining Room, West Perth


Food and Beverage Services Employee Award

Winner: Angelina Bellingham - White Salt, Sorrento

Highly Commended: Joann Maybury – The Chase Bar and Bistro


Front Office and Administration Employee Award

Winner: Cara Maslin - Black Swan Winery, Henley Brook

Highly Commended: Karla de Almeida - RAC Arena, Perth


PubTAB Operator Award

Winner: Vanessa Bozanich - Eaton Tavern


Cocktail Bartender Award

Winner: Bjorn Karason - Tiki As FK, Northbridge


Excellence in Service Award

Winner: Lisa-Faye Tudhope-Wickham - VenuesLive for Optus Stadium, Burswood

Highly Commended: Duangkamon( Dee) McDonough - State Buildings, Perth


Venue Manager Award


Winner: Lara Ducie - Blanche Bar, Karratha

Winner: Gregg McCumesky - The Henley Brook


Bar Team Award

Winner: Haynes Bar and Grill, Armadale




Group Venue Operator Award

Winner: Sneakers & Jeans


WA’s Best Regional Hospitality Venue

Winner: Froth Craft Brewery


Perth’s Best Hospitality Venue

Winner: The Marina Mindarie


Hospitality Industry Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Danny Kapinkoff

Corporate Sponsor - AON Risk Services
Corporate Sponsors
Corporate Sponsors
Corporate Sponsors
Corporate Sponsors
Corporate Sponsors